Members Monday

It’s Members Monday! Every week, we showcase and reward the club’s loyal members on hullfc.com and social media channels.

We bring you this week’s ClubHull offer, our members exclusive and this week’s Hull FC Member of the Week. This week’s Member of the Week is Mark Ash.

Name: Mark Ash

Date of birth: 21/04/1985

Favourite current player: Scott Taylor

All-time favourite player: Richard Swain

Mark Ash has been providing commentary for FC Live since 2012/2013.

He has many fond memories of supporting his boyhood team, Wembley last year being an obvious one, but other games also stick in the memory.

He explains: “Sometimes I go on a night and I just get the feeling that the team are going to do something special because there’s a buzz in the crowd.

“There was a couple of times when we battered Saints when they had a really good team, I remember Nathan Blacklock going practically the length of the field once.

“There was a special comeback against them as well. Francis Meli had scored four tries for them and we were 26-6 down in the second half, I remember the comeback and the Danny Tickle drop-goal that won it for us.”

Over recent times Mark has had a back-to-back battle that proves his indomitable spirit, in 2015 he was diagnosed with cancer, but battled it successfully.

Mark Says: “I was diagnosed with Stage 4 Hodgkins Lymphoma in 2015. I fought it and won, I was even featured on the front page of the Hull Daily Mail!

“But after that article was published I was told it had come back so I had to fight it again in 2016.

“This time I had a stem cell transplant, and now I’ve been in remission for seven months.”

He explains that supporting the Black & Whites was a big source of help as he twice battled to beat the disease.

He says: “I couldn’t go to games when I was having chemo because it absolutely batters your immune system, so there was too much risk of catching an infection.

“So I used to really look forward to the games on telly, they would put a smile on my face, especially when the team put in a big performance.”

MEMBERS EXCLUSIVE:

2017 members can get our black/white training vest for just £15, saving £11 off the retail price! Offer is only valid from the club’s retail stores and your 2017 pass must be shown when purchasing.

– See more at: http://www.hullfc.com/news/2017-03-13-hull-fc-member-of-the-week#sthash.uQUO5sUP.dpuf

Leave a Reply

