Documentary reflection

Making the documentary about the community champions initiative has been a big learning curve for me.

It has had some definite highlights such as interviewing JJ Tatten at The Warren and filming generic match coverage at Hull FC v Huddersfield Giants which saw Kirk Yeaman reach 350 appearances for the club.

Frustration has come from doing one interview which turned out to be inaudible because of the shotgun microphone and one that didn’t record because I was given the wrong SD Card for the camera I was using.

Much more frustration came from ringing certain people, who shall remain nameless, leaving messages and being told they would ring me back for whatever reason to do with the documentary, and them not ringing me.

I was also supposed to follow Feka Palea’aesina and film him out in the community, however this did not happen which was also massively frustrating.

Because of the constraints I have had I didn’t get anywhere near all the material I wanted to make a really excellent documentary, what I will take from the experience though is that I have learnt a lot and I am very happy, considering the problems I had, with the documentary I have produced.

Community Champions Documentary

Leave a Reply

